about face: Melissa Riemer

Posted: June 29, 2010 in strike a pose, work
Tags: , , ,

Australian born Melissa Riemer is child to a German father and Chinese mother. Blessed with her father’s stature and mother’s refined features, Riemer’s Eurasian look is in high demand through Asia.

Riemer has worked extensively through the Asia-Pacific region for six years, with recent campaigns including Robinsons (SGP), Nescafe (BKK), Max (NZ).

With a versatile and timeless look, Riemer’s presence within the industry is secured for a long time yet.

Agencies
Viviens- Australia
Red Models- Thailand
Nova- New Zealand
Upfront- Singapore

How did you get your break into modelling?
I sent my shots into two of the top agencies in my city, and the first one accepted me straight away.

Where has work taken you abroad?
Singapore, China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Vietnam, New Zealand.

What has been you favourite and/or most memorable job?
Most memorable, we were shooting an editorial for Luxury magazine (SGP), and shot at a haunted abandoned hospital in amongst wastelands in Singapore. The whole team being Asian and superstitious, first burnt joss sticks and held bank notes to appease the spirits. Then proceeded to shatter glass all around me for the shot!

What fashion designers/brands do you like and why?
Emannuel Ungaro and Roberto Cavalli, I have two differing styles depending on my mood. I love to dress really preppy/military for everyday, but when I’m in party mode I like to experiment with what I wear.

Who is your style icon?
I’ve never actually had any one particular person as a style icon! I think I prefer to take bits and pieces from each person’s style.

What is the biggest misconception about your job?
That it’s easy, we get paid a lot, we don’t eat and we are uneducated.

What is the most gruelling aspect of your work?
Shooting for 14 hours with no breaks, finishing in the early hours of the morning, then waking up an hour later to find out you’ve been booked for another job that day and having to look like you’ve had 8 hours perfect rest.

What has working as a fashion model taught you about yourself?
Surprisingly to be more comfortable in my own skin, and realise that perfection is more than what is on the surface.

Has working in the fashion industry influenced what you will do post
modelling? (If so what do you see yourself doing?)
I was a musician before I began modelling fulltime, I’m definitely keen to go back to my roots, but I feel that modelling and travel has taught me so many things in life that I needed to learn before I got back into music.

What would you suggest to boys/girls contemplating working as a model?
Understand that it’s definitely not as glamorous as everyone makes it out to be. You need to be extremely patient, and know that most of the time you are not the star, the clothing is. You are simply there to do a job and be professional about it. But other than that it’s a fantastic way to see the world, and meet some of the most amazing people. The opportunities are endless if you persevere.

Leave a comment